Mundford Jubilee Fayre

Mundford Jubilee FayreOn the 4th June after a damp start the sun came out at the Village Hall and we had a good turnout of people to take part in the Jubilee Fayre. The Fayre was the appropriate occasion to resurrect the Mundford Mile which hadn’t been held for several years, and many of the runners remembered the time when the Mundford Mile was held every year. Because of its success the Trustees of the Village Hall are very enthusiastic to continue the event on an annual basis, and some of the volunteers have agreed to help with the future events.

An on-line Treasure was set up to raise money prior for the fayre but unfortunately this did not attract the numbers that we had hoped for, the committee agreed that this would be more successful during the winter months when people are more likely to be at home and needs to run for a longer period of time to help people get into the swing of it.

On the day of the Fayre we had a mix of Charity stalls, Tombola’s, a car boot sale, pony rides and also an animal area where children could pet miniature sheep, goats, pigs and chickens. This was a big favourite with the children. The rounder’s teams proved very competitive and volleyball was also available for anyone who wanted to play.

Over the event made over £600 in profit which was given to the Village Hall to support future events. The committee would like to say a big thank you to our sponsors, the Breckland District Council for their support and donation, Didlington Nurseries for their kind donation of the plant sale, Ian and Amanda of Evergreen Carriages for the animal petting area and the Rainbow Riding School for bringing along the ponies.

Winners of the Mundford Mile races are listed below;

1st Lady: Sandra Cooper
1st Man: Mason Thorogood
1st Girl under 16: Elloise Cordy
1st Boy under 16: Archie Blakemore
1st Man over 50: Ian Cooper
1st Lady over 40: Rosemary Matlock
1st Girl under 12: Kayla Aspin
1st Boy under 12: Aiden Try
1st Girl under 10: Maddie Ralph
1st Boy under 10: Liam Cronin
1st Girl under 8: Kezia Hayden
1st Boy under 8: Tom Hayden

View images of the fayre from the Parish Archive here.